This blog is where you will find community council information, including meeting times, minutes and agenda. Do please comment on postings.

Saturday, 26 October 2013

Nominations are now open for the Edinburgh Award 2013

This is your chance to help the City recognise someone whose work has enhanced Edinburgh's reputation both at home and abroad. Nominate someone you think deserves the Edinburgh Award by filling in the online nomination form.

The Edinburgh Award was established in 2007 and is now a prestigious annual award to honour an outstanding individual who has made a positive impact on the city and gained national and international recognition for Edinburgh. Criteria for nomination are that the individual:
  • was born in Edinburgh or has lived in the City for the past 12 months;
  • has not previously been awarded The Freedom of the City;
  • is not a previous winner of The Edinburgh Award;
  • is not a serving politician.
The winner is presented with an engraved Loving Cup at a ceremony hosted by the Lord Provost and has their hand prints reproduced on a flagstone in the City Chambers Quadrangle.  
Previous recipients of the Edinburgh Award are:
  • Ian Rankin OBE [Presented 2007]
  • JK Rowling OBE [Presented 2008]
  • Sir Chris Hoy MBE [Presented 2009]
  • George Kerr CBE [Presented 2011]
  • Professor Peter Higgs [Presented 2012]
  • Dame Elizabeth Blackadder [Presented 2013]

The recipient of the 2013 Award will be honoured at a ceremony at the beginning of 2014.

No comments: